Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Glory to Rome, if a player leads with a role, say Architect (using a Jack, as it is important to this example) can I follow with an actual Architect card if I either have no legal plays (all in-town sites are built or my stockpile is empty/not applicable to my under construction buildings) or if I want to perform no action other than to get an architect role into the pool at the end of the turn?

(Specifically this is so I can patron an Architect to win the game through the Forum's special ability, and Architects don't make it/remain in the pool.)

share|improve this question
Someone with 150+ rep please create a glory-to-rome tag and assign it to this question please. Ridiculous. – cfeduke Oct 29 '10 at 16:28
Done and done ! – LittleBobbyTables Oct 29 '10 at 16:33

In Glory to Rome, I find the general answer to "Can I do X?" questions is yes. Your question follows that pattern, or else I'd be very surprised for this reason:

If you were forced to have a valid move at the time that you followed, then you could never really follow a legionnaire, because you might have your hand reduced to nothing but jacks, in which case you couldn't actually demand anything.

share|improve this answer

You can follow with an actual Architect card, or choose to Think regardless of whether you have a legal action to play. I think I am understanding the rules correctly. Your opponent can lead with a Jack, because a Jack can be used to lead or follow any role.

Jack Fictional Roman citizens of all trades. Jacks may be used to lead as or follow any role.

The Leader selects a role, and then each other player gets the option of Following, or Thinking.

On each turn the player with the Leader Card (The Leader) decides what type of turn (Role) it is going to be, and then each other player decides whether to participate (Follow) or draw cards (Think) Here’s how to play each turn:

  1. If the Leader “leads” then in clockwise order around the table each other player may either:

    • “think” and draw more cards (see below)

    • “follow” by playing an Order card of the same role as the Leader

  2. In clockwise order, each other player now gets to perform one action if they chose to follow, plus an additional action for each client he has of the chosen role. Players who thought instead of following do still get to take actions for their clients!

The decision to "follow" is made by playing the Order card, and doesn't require a mandatory use of the action. This is supported in the rules by the Stairway Card.

Stairway - Each time you execute an Architect action you may also chose to move an appropriate material into any opponent’s completed structure in order to immediately grant that structure’s function to all players ... You may perform the additional action even if you choose not to use your Architect action.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.