I looked over the Gatherer rulings and it didn't mention anything about it, nor does it mention permanents on the card or in the rulings.
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
On any given card, a card that specifies a permanent type without explicitly saying 'card' only affects permanents in play (unless otherwise specified by the card). If you have an artifact card in your hand, it is exactly that - an artifact card, and not an 'artifact'...