Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My opponent declares two creatures as attackers. I want to play Act of Aggression to gain control of one of their creatures and so I can have it block their other creature. Is this possible? Is so, during what step do I need to play my Act of Aggression? If I played it during my declare blockers step, would the creature that I now controlled still be attacking me?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Yes, that's fine. You would play the spell during the declare attackers step, after attackers are declared, but before proceeding to the declare blockers step. Then you are free to declare it as a blocker. If you wait for your declare blockers step, it's too late to block with the creature.

The ordering is:

  • Declare Attackers Starts:
  • Turn Based Action - Attackers are declared
  • Players get Priority <- Cast Spell Now!
  • Declare Blockers Starts:
  • Turn Based Action - Blockers are declared
  • Players get Priority <- Too late to use as blocker if cast now!

Any time a creature changes controllers, it is automatically removed from combat, so it will no longer be considered attacking you (or attacking/blocking at all if it previously was).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.