Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A sneaky runner managed to make his way into my corporate HQ. I let him pick a card at random from my hand (I had no upgrades), and it just happened to be a piece of ICE or an Operation or maybe even an Agenda.

Does the runner have the option of trashing the card? There's no listed trashing cost, so if they are allowed to trash the card, what does it cost?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, Runners do not have the option of trashing cards that have no trash costs. They may trash cards with trash costs. Special care should be taken when accessing multiple cards (see page 18). From page 18 of the rules, under Access Phase:

HQ: The Runner accesses one random card from HQ and any upgrades in its root. Any cards the Runner does not score or trash return to HQ.

Trashing Cards - If the Runner accesses a card with a trash cost, he may pay credits equal to its trash cost in order to trash it to Archives faceup.

share|improve this answer
    
Um, don't you mean 'no'? –  ire_and_curses Jan 19 '13 at 3:30
    
@ire_and_curses, No, I mean yes. "Does the runner have the option of trashing the card? Yes, Runners have the option of trashing cards that have trash costs. So, yes they have the option, if it has a trash cost as I clarified. It would make less sense to say, no hey don't have the option of trashing a card. –  user1873 Jan 19 '13 at 4:24
    
Ok. I found your wording confusing, since in the case described by the OP, the card doesn't have trash costs, so they don't have the option. But since you meant to use your wording, that's fine. –  ire_and_curses Jan 19 '13 at 4:29
    
Now that I think about it, I could word it the other way. It would mean the same thing. "No, Runners do not have the option of trashing cards that have no trash costs. They may trash cards with trash costs." Is that clearer? –  user1873 Jan 19 '13 at 4:29
    
Yes, I find that alternative wording clearer. –  ire_and_curses Jan 19 '13 at 4:30
show 2 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.