Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was playing Star Craft: The Board Game recently as Jim Raynor, and a question arose:

Do planet areas with (fully) depleted resources count for Raynor's special victory objective? We ruled it as "no" on the spot, but later I couldn't find anything related in the rules.

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, depleted areas do count. From the FAQ:

Q: If an area has been fully depleted of resources, does it still count towards players’ special victory conditions?

A: Yes. For example, Jim Raynor needs to control six areas containing gas and/or minerals; this includes any area that has a printed gas or mineral icon on it.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.