Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Lets assume that I equip an Illusionist's Bracers on Mayor Of Avabruck.

When he flips on the trigger of not casting a spell, can he technically flip twice, meaning that he would turn into a werewolf and then back again, or does he remain as a werewolf permanently?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Illusionist's Bracers

Illusionist's Bracers only copy activated abilities.

112.3b Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]”

Most transform cards, like werewolves and Delver of Secrets, have triggered abilities. Illusionist's Bracers have no effect on them. They will, however, double the activated abilities of Bloodline Keeper, causing it to flip twice when it transforms.

All of the abilities of Mayor of Avabruck and Howlpack Alpha abilities are triggered, so he won't benefit from Illusionist's Bracers unless you give him an activated ability from an outside source.

share|improve this answer
2  
Note that the loyalty abilities of planeswalkers are activated abilities even though their artistic representation belies their true "[cost]: [effect]" form. Certain keyword abilities (e.g. Equip) are represent activated abilities. –  ikegami Jan 29 '13 at 19:30
    
Also note that planeswalkers are not creatures and as such, can't be equipped (unless they turn into creatures, but when they turn back, the equipment falls off as a state-based effect) –  cdeszaq Jan 31 '13 at 14:20
add comment

Mayor of Avabruck doesn't have any activated abilities, so I fear this is a bit of a nonbo. Equipping him with Illusionist's Bracers won't usually do much...

Something like Civilized Scholar may reap you greater rewards. If you activate HIS ability you will indeed get to use it twice (and transform to Homicidal Scholar and back again straight away.)

share|improve this answer
    
Ah I assumed so much of the cards forgot the ultimate rule of mtg. The "RTFC". –  wesdfgfgd Jan 29 '13 at 16:38
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.