Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

My reason for asking is I believe the promotion to be instant: As the pawn's toe crosses the line into the square, it transforms into the promotion piece's toe... Meaning that even though the route was blocked for a pawn, the promotion to a queen (for example) would allow the move to proceed.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 9 down vote accepted

No. A pawn gains no special movement rules when on the penultimate rank. Often in end-games the opposing King will be in front of the pawn to prevent it from being promoted.

share|improve this answer
    
Just cos you're right...that doesn't mean I have to like it ;) –  Bryan with a y Jan 30 '13 at 10:28

This is not football, where a "touchdown" is scored by crossing the "plane" of a goal line.

In order to become a queen, a pawn has to occupy a square on the eighth line. If that square is already occupied, a pawn can't "share" the square using a forward move.

The only way a pawn can queen against an enemy piece on a queening square is by capturing it with a DIAGONAL move.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.