Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I just came by Realmwright and it didn't give any discussion on whether the changed lands are permanently changed or not if the creature leaves the battlefield.

Does anyone have any info on this?

share|improve this question
Realmwright doesn't change any land's color. They remain colorless. – ikegami Feb 12 '13 at 6:10
up vote 8 down vote accepted

The short answer is no, they'll lose whatever type they're given when Realmwright leaves the battlefield. The reason is that Realmwright has a static ability that creates a continuous effect that dictates that the lands are of the given type:

112.3d Static abilities are written as statements. They're simply true. Static abilities create continuous effects which are active while the permanent with the ability is on the battlefield and has the ability, or while the object with the ability is in the appropriate zone. See rule 604, "Handling Static Abilities."

Since Realmwright's ability is the source of the continuous effect giving the lands the specified type, the effect will end as soon as Realmwright leaves the battlefield.

share|improve this answer
But what verbiage am I looking for to see that its a static ability? – OghmaOsiris Feb 12 '13 at 5:09
The text 'Lands you control are the chosen type in addition to their other types' is the static ability text. It's a static ability 'by default': because it doesn't use the phrase 'when', it isn't a triggered ability; because it doesn't have the colon it's not an activated ability; and abilities that last 'forever' (i.e., that aren't tied to a permanent being in the appropriate zone) are (generally) expressed with emblems now. For more information on how to identify abilities, I suggest reading the rest of section 112 in the comprehensive rules. – Steven Stadnicki Feb 12 '13 at 5:11
You might want to look at a card like Obsidian Fireheart (…) for an example of how a Magic card needs to specifically clarify that an effect continues even after the generating permanent has left play. – thesunneversets Feb 12 '13 at 10:54

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.