Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can the Mask of Avacyn be targeted by spells after it's been equipped to a creature?

This is an odd question, because the mask gives the equipped creature a +1/+2 and has hexproof and says it "can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponent controls", where "it" refers to the equipped creature. However, can your opponent use a spell or ability to directly destroy the Mask of Avacyn (in this case an Artifact - Equipment card)?

Example: Mask of Avacyn is attached to a creature. Can my opponent use the Planeswalker ability of Nicol Bolas that reads: "Destroy target noncreature permanent"?

Alternatively, can my opponent use a spell card that reads, "Destroy target permanent" or Recoil, an Instant that reads:, "Return target permanent to its owner's hand. Then that player discards a card"?

share|improve this question
    
the creature can't be the target of spells or abilities. The mask itself still can. –  Sam I am Feb 12 '13 at 15:05
1  
If the answer is satisfactory, please check the mark next to it. If not, please indicate why you think it isn't. Welcome to StackExchange! –  ikegami Feb 15 '13 at 2:43
add comment

1 Answer

Yes. The Mask doesn't have hexproof, shroud or similar.

Even when attached, the equipment and the equipped creature are two separate permanents. Only the creature gets +1/+2 and hexproof. Nothing in the scenario you described gives the Mask any abilities (such as hexproof) when attached.

share|improve this answer
    
I would have thought that you could not attach the Mask directly unless you get rid of the creature first. I would not have a problem it the equipment was on the battlefield and you wanted to destroy it with a destroy target card, however, I would think since in this case its attached to creature, that an opponent would have to destroy the creature first. What do you think? –  user4893 Feb 12 '13 at 6:21
5  
I already said what I think. Attaching the Mask doesn't give Mask hexproof or similar, so nothing's stopping you from targeting the Mask. It's the other way around, you can't target the creature until you get rid of the Mask first. –  ikegami Feb 12 '13 at 6:26
1  
If you want Avacyn's Mask to have hexproof, you could try using Privileged Position (gatherer.wizards.com/pages/card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=83720). Note that Privileged Position can still be targeted by your opponent! –  thesunneversets Feb 12 '13 at 10:50
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.