Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Cities expansion comes with 3 diplomacy tokens.

In each game there could be 4 (5 with Manneken Pis) ways to get a token:

  • age I city Residence
  • age II city Consulate
  • age III city Embassy
  • wonder Petra
    • side A: 1 token
    • side B: 2 tokens
  • (wonder Manneken Pis)

What happens when all three tokens are in use and now another token is needed?

Example scenario:

  • 4 players:
    • Bob has wonder Petra (B)
    • Alice has wonder Halicarnassus
    • Susan (any wonder)
    • Dave (any wonder)
  • In age III:
    • Bob builds both wonder stages → 2 tokens (1 left)
    • Alice builds a wonder stage and builds Residence from the discard pile → 1 token (0 left)
    • Susan builds Embassy from her hand → 1 token needed

Does Susan get a virtual diplomacy token or not?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

I think it's pretty safe to say that there are only 3 Diplomacy tokens provided because the scenarios in which 4 or 5 Diplomacy tokens are required at once are so vanishingly rare.

As I discovered from previous discussions of the finer points of the rules terminology (and I went so far as to double-check with the game designer Antoine Bauza via Twitter!), 7 Wonders is not a game where you need to obsess about the minutiae. In unusual corner cases, things probably work in a commonsense sort of way, no need to over think then.

There is no obvious reason why a player should be deprived of a Diplomacy token because 3 have already been taken already; and certainly no available justification for taking somebody else's Diplomacy token that has already been given out! In the unusual event that more than 3 Diplomacy tokens are required at once, I believe the sensible course of action is just to use something else as a stand-in Diplomacy token for the turn.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.