Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell.

Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature or enchantment that has a sacrifice ability?

share|improve this question
1  
A scenario that confused me once in actual play was stealing a creature equipped with Blazing Torch from my opponent. Although the creature now controlled by me had the "Tap, Sac Blazing Torch" ability, it couldn't actually use it, because that would be sacrificing a permanent controlled by another player. Much to my disappointment... –  thesunneversets Feb 15 '13 at 14:17
    
Gets even worse with older equipment cards where there are frequently abilities of the equipment itself, as opposed to newer ones that are generally worded to grant an ability to the creature! –  Affe Feb 15 '13 at 18:02
add comment

1 Answer

Yup.

701.14a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent he or she doesn’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

(Emphasis mine.)

share|improve this answer
2  
If you couldn't, spells like Act of Treason wouldn't be nearly as powerful. There's few greater feelings than stealing your opponent's big creature he hasn't even used yet to hit him with it, then sacrifice it on him. Hint: don't do that to your wife the first time you play with her, she won't play for weeks. [citation: personal experience]. –  corsiKa Feb 15 '13 at 21:01
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.