Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a Bountiful Harvest. It's a Sorcery that reads "You gain l life for each land you control."

Does this refer to only cards that say Land and not Basic Land, or does it count for both?

share
    
This explanation might be helpful. –  Alex P Feb 17 '13 at 3:54

2 Answers 2

A Basic Land is still a land. Any card with "Land" in the type line is a land.

205.1. The type line is printed directly below the illustration. It contains the card's card type(s). It also contains the card's subtype(s) and supertype(s), if applicable.

205.2a The card types are artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, plane, planeswalker, sorcery, tribal, and vanguard. See section 3,"Card Types."

305.5. Land subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash. Land subtypes are also called land types. Lands may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3i for the complete list of land types.

Example: "Basic Land — Mountain"means the card is a land with the subtype Mountain.

share
    
The question is do I get a life point for ever basic land. My opponent did not allow me to gain a life point for ever basic-land card. –  user4893 Feb 17 '13 at 4:10
    
@user4893 Like the answer says, basic lands are lands. So are nonbasic lands. You get a point of life for each land you control, no matter what kind it is. –  Jefromi Feb 17 '13 at 4:20
    
good, then I wonder why this card only got a 1 star rating :) –  user4893 Feb 17 '13 at 4:26
2  
@user4893 This card only has a 1 star rating because life gain, in itself, does not win games. This is one of the first lessons of the aspiring magic player. All life gain by itself does is slow down how fast you lose the game. This particular card is expensive for its effect. –  ghoppe Feb 17 '13 at 6:06
    
Lifegain can be effective to the extent that it buys you time, just like bounce or tap spells. It needs to be cheap and gain you a lot of life though. Like Rest for the Weary in a deck that's just trying to survive til turn 4, or Gnaw to the Bone in a self-milling Limited deck. –  Alex P Feb 17 '13 at 14:55

Land is short for land permanent, which means permanent that has "land" as one of its types.

It doesn't matter what supertypes it might have, if any. For example, both Forest (basic) and Academy Ruins (legendary) match.

It doesn't matter what other types it might have, if any. For example, both Dryad Arbor (creature) and Tree of Tales (artifact) match.

It doesn't matter what subtypes it might have, if any. For example, both Forest (forest) and Golgari Guildgate (gate) match.

So, if you have a three Forests and one Golgari Guildgate, you'll gain four life.

share

This site is currently not accepting new answers.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .