Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Just a quick question to be sure we are playing the right way.

Is getting a Great Hall by playing Ironworks let you draw a card and play another action since the Great Hall is both an action card and a victory card?



  • Action
  • cost 4
  • Gain a card costing up to 4 Coins. If it is an Action card, +1 Action; Treasure card, +1; Victory card, +1 Card.

Great Hall

  • Action - Victory
  • cost 3
  • +1 Card, +1 Action, 1 VP
share|improve this question
up vote 14 down vote accepted

Yes, that's how they work. If the text on the cards isn't enough for you, it also explicitly says it in the rules:

You get a bonus depending on what type of card you gained. A card with 2 types gives you both bonuses; if you use Ironworks to gain a Great Hall, you will then draw a card (because Great Hall is a Victory card) and may play another Action (because Great Hall is an Action card).

This is really another case of "do exactly what it says on the cards" - it says on Ironworks that if it's an Action you get +1 Action, so you do, and it says on Ironworks that if it's a Victory card, you get +1 Card, so you do.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.