Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was reading somewhere a few days ago that when a player creates a token using a spell like Rapid Hybridization they own the token, even though they never had control of it. I can't seem to find the discussion or the relevant rule.

When I create a token that comes into play under another players control, do I own the token?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 11 down vote accepted

No, that token is owned by the other player. From the current Comprehensive Rules:

110.5a A token is both owned and controlled by the player under whose control it entered the battlefield.

Tokens used to be owned by the controller of the effect that created them, but this was changed in the Magic 2010 rules revision to line up better with people's intuitions about ownership of permanents.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks Alex. I found the link and was about to make the same edit, but you beat me to it! –  thesunneversets Feb 25 '13 at 21:12
    
You beat me to posting the rules quote. Tit for tat. ;) –  Alex P Feb 25 '13 at 21:13
1  
Looks like the way I always thought it worked has only been true since July of 2009. Thanks for posting all the rule changes for M10. –  SocioMatt Feb 25 '13 at 22:00
    
There used to be a bunch of decks that abused the old rules with Hunted creatures (e.g. Hunted Dragon, Hunted Phantasm) and Brand. A neat idea, but not really in the true spirit of the cards :) –  thesunneversets Feb 25 '13 at 22:41
    
@thesunneversets I was making an EDH deck using Zedruu the Greathearted. This would have mattered quite a bit, but I wasn't going to make it abusive. I didn't even consider the amount of random things that could be done that would abuse that rule. –  SocioMatt Feb 26 '13 at 13:08
show 1 more comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.