Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?

share|improve this question
    
Thanks @ire_and_curses –  JustLikeThat Feb 26 '13 at 4:00

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

The mana created by Burning-Tree Emissary is no different than then mana created by Forest and Mountain cards. Keep in mind the ability of a Forest reads "{T}: Add {G} to your mana pool."

As usual, it remains there until used or until the current step or phase ends.

500.4. When a step or phase ends, any unused mana left in a player’s mana pool empties. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks! I was thinking it was too easy to gain two free mana for the whole game –  JustLikeThat Feb 26 '13 at 3:59
    
Added a little to my answer. –  ikegami Feb 26 '13 at 4:04
    
@ikegami, But since there's no mana burn now, doesn't this mean that the penalty it used to have is no longer there? –  Pacerier 2 days ago
    
@Parcerier, Correct. By following the link in the answer, you can see it has not receive any errata. The whole point of removing mana burn was to simplify the game by removing a rule that had little effect on the game. (I'll dig up the announcement if you ask me to.) Recreating the rule through an errata would have been counter-productive. –  ikegami 2 days ago

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.