Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Assuming you are an active player you play an Oracle of Mul Daya or Crucible of Worlds. Could you play your land before they kill Oracle of Mul Daya? Would you be able to play lands off of Crucible of Worlds if they would try to destroy it?

share|improve this question
The first of the questions is really the same as the first of your earlier questions. – ikegami Feb 27 '13 at 15:58
Wasn't thinking just randomly typing. – wesdfgfgd Feb 27 '13 at 17:18
-1: It might sound a little harsh, but "randomly typing" and not thinking about a question you asked less than 24 hours ago fits the criterion "does not show any research effort" pretty well. I'd probably remove my downvote if you edited, though. – Jefromi Feb 27 '13 at 17:38
Please leave it as is since removing the question would "break" my answer. @Jefromi – ikegami Feb 27 '13 at 17:53
The content is actually worthwhile to other users in that the Oracle +lands is an extra special case. When an Oracle resolves you can in fact drop both lands without your opponent ever getting priority, because of special rules related to lands. OP may have not had any idea he was asking a question that covered special conditions, but "lucking into" a good question doesn't make it less worthwhile to answer ;) – Affe Feb 27 '13 at 18:03
up vote 4 down vote accepted

APNAP doesn't factor in. APNAP is used when multiple players need to make choices simultaneously, and when stacking triggered abilities of multiple players. These questions are strictly about priority.

As the active player, you get priority after a spell resolves.

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

If you were to play a land then (a special action), you would get priority again.

116.3c If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.

So the answers to both questions are yes.

share|improve this answer
Worth adding that playing a land is a special action that does not use the stack. :) – Affe Feb 27 '13 at 17:27
@Affe, done. ~~~~ – ikegami Feb 27 '13 at 17:50

It works the exact same way as the planeswalker case, Mentioned in your other question

Once Oracle resolves, assuming that it's your turn, you have priority, and you have all day to take whatever actions are legal to you, until you pass priority. This includes playing your second land for turn(which doesn't use the stack anyway), and you'll still have priority after that.

For instance, if you were to play Fastbond, you could play any number of lands, without your opponent receiving priority, assuming that no triggers are being put onto the stack.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.