Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I wonder if I am able to cast Killing Glare if there are no powerless creatures on the board?

For example to Extort after casting.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, you have to pick a legal target (a creature with power 0 or less) when you cast the spell, as instructed by the third step of casting a spell.

601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires. [...]

If you can't, any steps of casting the spell already taken are undone.

601.2. [...] If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast [...]

share|improve this answer
    
Presumably the card would work the way the OP wants if it was worded something more like "If target creature has power X or less, destroy it." –  thesunneversets Feb 28 '13 at 14:38
    
@thesunneversets, yeah, then any creature would be a valid target. "Destroy a creature with with power X or less." would also allow it to be cast since the creature would be chosen on resolution. –  ikegami Feb 28 '13 at 15:47
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.