Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I wonder if I am able to cast Killing Glare if there are no powerless creatures on the board?

For example to Extort after casting.

share

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, you have to pick a legal target (a creature with power 0 or less) when you cast the spell, as instructed by the third step of casting a spell.

601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires. [...]

If you can't, any steps of casting the spell already taken are undone.

601.2. [...] If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast [...]

share
    
Presumably the card would work the way the OP wants if it was worded something more like "If target creature has power X or less, destroy it." –  thesunneversets Feb 28 '13 at 14:38
    
@thesunneversets, yeah, then any creature would be a valid target. "Destroy a creature with with power X or less." would also allow it to be cast since the creature would be chosen on resolution. –  ikegami Feb 28 '13 at 15:47

This site is currently not accepting new answers.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .