Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Do the effects of a Commander that deal (non-combat) damage, such as Obzedat, Ghost Council, count towards Commander damage?

I have not been able to find whether or not it has to be, specifically, combat damage, or simply damage dealt by the Commander.

share|improve this question

Per the official rules on,

If a player has been dealt 21 points of combat damage by a particular Commander during the game, that player loses a game.

"Combat damage" refers only to damage dealt in combat as a result of attacking and blocking; direct-damage abilities don't count. Note also that Obzedat, Ghost Council's triggered ability doesn't deal damage: it simply causes your opponent to lose life.

share|improve this answer

From the Comprehensive Rules

104.3j In a Commander game, a player that's been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same Commander over the course of the game loses the game. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704. Also see rule 903.14)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.