Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Some Assets can be advanced (e.g. Project Junebug) and some can't (e.g. Snare!). Is it OK to advance any asset cards to make them look like Agenda?

For example, with the ambush assets the Runner would be lured, but the advance token(s) would have no other effects.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No, you cannot fake advance cards that do not specifically say they can be advanced.

Page 14 in the rule book:

Cards other than agendas can only be advanced if their text box allows it.

Related: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/892149/can-you-advance-snare

share|improve this answer
1  
I see the quote on the BGG thread you link to, but is there a reason we should believe it? In other words, what makes it authoritative, rather than just someone's opinion? –  ire_and_curses Mar 3 '13 at 21:25
    
Good point. I've updated my answer to focus on quoting what is actually in the rulebook. The rulebook is pretty clear in stating what cards can and can't be advanced. –  theon Mar 3 '13 at 22:52
add comment

The rules say you can advance Agendas, and any other card which says it can be advanced. If a card says you can advance it, you can. For Assets which don't say you can advance them, you cannot.

If a card does say you can advance it, you can advance it even when it is unrezzed, unless it says otherwise. (Normally card effects only apply when they are ressed and active.)

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.