Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a True Believer out which gives me shroud. My opponent has an enchantment that says that each player must sacrifice whenever he sacrifices a card. Does the enchantment target me, thus allowing me to avoid the effect, or does the enchantment still have its effect despite me having shroud?

share|improve this question
    
It doesn't basically give you shroud; it actually gives you shroud. –  ikegami Mar 6 '13 at 2:15
1  
Coalition Victory: You basically win the game if you control a land of each basic land type and a creature of each color. –  Jefromi Mar 6 '13 at 19:18

2 Answers 2

"Shroud" means "This permanent or player can't be the target of spells or abilities."

Unless the ability specifically uses the word target, it is not affected by shroud.

I'm not sure which enchantment you are talking about, but if it says each player, like Grave Pact, then it is not affected by shroud. If it says target opponent or target player, then it is affected by shroud.

Note that there is a subtype of Enchantment, Curse, which have the line Enchant Player. These Enchantment Aura spells do target a player when they are on the stack, so they are affected by shroud.

share|improve this answer
    
If a True Believer is cast subsequently to a player being enchanted by a Curse, that wouldn't cause the Curse to fall off, am I right? Or am I confused? –  thesunneversets Mar 5 '13 at 23:32
1  
@thesunneversets Auras target something only when the spell is on the stack. If a Zur the Enchanter, for example, puts the Curse on the battlefield, it will not be affected by Shroud. see CR 303.4a and 303.4f –  ghoppe Mar 5 '13 at 23:35
1  
Good, that's what I thought. I saw some potential for confusion in "...and are attached to player, so they are affected by Shroud". Being attached to a player doesn't actually interact very much with Shroud at all, except insofar as usually things become attached via targeting (?) –  thesunneversets Mar 5 '13 at 23:37
    
@thesunneversets That's a good point and I shall reword my answer. –  ghoppe Mar 5 '13 at 23:38
    
@thesunneversets yes, as per CR303.4a things are attached via targeting. –  corsiKa Mar 6 '13 at 0:18

If you have True Believer out, you have shroud. You cannot be the target of spells or abilities.

If a spell like Grace Pact comes along, you still must sacrifice, because you are not a target. As an analogy, Mist Leopard still dies to Day of Judgment.

If a spell like Curse of Bloodletting comes along, you're safe because the Aura targets you by definition (CR303.4a), but you are an illegal target. You're also safe from Lightning Bolt and its ilk.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.