Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Say I have a 5/5 indestructible creature. An opponent plays a 3 damage spell on this creature. After that spell resolves, the opponent then plays a spell which gives the creature -2/-2 until end of turn. Does the creature die?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Say I have a 5/5 indestructible creature. An opponent plays a 3 damage spell on this creature. After that spell resolves,

It becomes a 5/5 with 3 damage marked on it.

Perhaps you've played DotP where this is shown as 5/2 on the screen, but that's misleading because damage does not reduce toughness. (Damage from a source with Wither or Infect can grant -1/-1 counters which in turn reduce toughness, but that doesn't appear to be what you're asking about.)

the opponent then plays a spell which gives the creature -2/-2 until end of turn.

So it becomes a 3/3 with 3 damage marked on it.

Does the creature die?

No. It has positive toughness, and lethal damage does not destroy indestructible creatures.

700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can't destroy it. (See rule 701.6, "Destroy.") Such permanents are not destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the lethal-damage state-based action (see rule 704.5g). Rules or effects may cause an indestructible permanent to be sacrificed, put into a graveyard, or exiled.

share|improve this answer

No, he would be a 3/3 marked with 3 damage. This 3 damage would be 'lethal', but since he is indestructible, he is immune to such deaths.

700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can't destroy it. (See rule 701.6, "Destroy.") Such permanents are not destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the lethal-damage state-based action (see rule 704.5g). Rules or effects may cause an indestructible permanent to be sacrificed, put into a graveyard, or exiled.

share|improve this answer
    
Taking the bouncing ball here, does the indestructible ability makes a creature immune to "remove permanent" spell? –  LittleViking26 Mar 7 '13 at 16:04
1  
@LittleViking26 No. Indestructible simply means that destroy effects and lethal damage do not work. forced sacrifice, toughness=0 state check, exile effect, ect... still work. –  Colin D Mar 7 '13 at 16:11
    
That'S what I tought, just making sure, thanks –  LittleViking26 Mar 7 '13 at 16:15
1  
We like to avoid plain links on StackExchange sites; it's often more useful to readers if they can get the full answer just by reading what's here. You might consider editing in the actual rule that's included in that wiki page (700.4). –  Jefromi Mar 7 '13 at 18:02

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.