Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What exactly defines the beginning and end of a specific step? Because I'm wondering if my logic seems solid enough.

I'm thinking of trying to avoid the sac requirement on my Spark Trooper by using Voidwalk or the ability of Mistmeadow Witch or the like. This way I hope that when he comes back to the field since all the initial actions that stated at the beginning of the end step resolve, it is thus no longer the beginning of said step meaning I can hopefully bypass the sac requirement when he re-enters and thus use spark trooper repeatedly without having to revive him.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

It doesn't matter when the beginning or end of a specific step is. The rules state that any permanents that trigger during the End Step, do not trigger until the next end step. This means that if you exile Spark Trooper with Mistmeadow Witch in response to the sacrifice trigger, it will be removed until your opponents EOT, and you won't have to sacrifice it until your next end step. Voidwalk, due to it being a Sorcery, would require you casting it during the Second Main Phase, so you would need to save the targeted Spark Trooper at the end of your opponents turn as well.

513.3. If a permanent with an ability that triggers "at the beginning of the end step" enters the battlefield during this step, that ability won't trigger until the next turn's end step. Likewise, if a delayed triggered ability that triggers "at the beginning of the next end step" is created during this step, that ability won't trigger until the next turn's end step. In other words, the step doesn't "backup" so those abilities can go on the stack. This rule applies only to triggered abilities; it doesn't apply to continuous effects whose durations say "until end of turn" or "this turn." (See rule 514, "Cleanup Step.")

share|improve this answer
    
ok from what I've gathered I can do that to avoid it thank you for the reply –  ReallyConfuzzledOrganism Mar 9 '13 at 4:52
    
@user1875, I think you meant "you won't have to sacrifice it until your next end step" or "you won't have to sacrifice it in your opponents end step". –  Pablo Mar 9 '13 at 17:46
1  
@Pablo, no I didn't. Voidwalk is a sorcery, so barring some other trickery, Spark Trooper would be cast during their Main Phase, and would normally be sacked at their EOT. In response, they could blink it out with Mistmeadow Witch during their EOT step, or they could blink it with Voidwalk during the 2nd Main Phase. In either case, the Spark Trooper will need to be rescued again, or it will be sacked during their opponents EOT. The OP needs to save Spark Trooper at the end of every turn, not just their own. –  user1873 Mar 9 '13 at 17:54
    
Actually, if you blink the Spark Trooper with Mistmeadow Witch in response to its trigger, it would return the Trooper to the battlefield at the beginning of your opponent's end step, which means it wouldn't be sacrificed again until the end step of your next turn. But you're right about Voidwalk of course. –  David Z Mar 9 '13 at 22:35
1  
@DavidZaslavsky, duly noted and corrected. I forgot about the duration of the exile from Mistmweadow Withes effect. –  user1873 Mar 9 '13 at 23:10
add comment

As with every other step, the beginning of the End Step is the instant the End Step begins. If something has happened in the End Step, it's past the beginning of the End Step.

In the scenario you presented, the following has happened in the End Step before Spark Trooper entered the 'field:

  • The delayed triggered ability created by Voidwalk triggered.
  • The delayed triggered ability created by Voidwalk was placed on the stack.
  • Both players passed priority.
  • The delayed triggered ability created by Voidwalk started resolving, placing Spark Trooper on the battlefield.

As such, Spark Trooper wasn't even close to being on the battlefield at the beginning of the end step. It's ability won't trigger that turn.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.