Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When Bal-Bas-Beta and Setsuki Hiruki are playing against each other, the moves Steam Vent and Esper Dash have directly conflicting actions.

Steam Vent:

Start of your turn: Push an opponent from a dark space away from you one space. That opponent can't dashing strike on his next turn.

Esper Dash:

You move: You may move again or dashing strike.

If I use Steam Vent against my opponent, can he move and use Esper Dash to dashing strike me anyway? Or, if he uses Esper Dash, is he required to take the extra move action, since he can't dashing strike?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

According to Sirlin (the creator of the game):

In all my games and also in MtG:

If an ability says "You can do X" and another ability says "You can't do X," then "You can't do X" takes precedence.

This means that Steam Vents would prevent Setsuki from using her Esper Dash to use a dashing strike on the next turn.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.