Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question already has an answer here:

In Ticket to Ride: Europe, on your turn you can pick up two cards from the face-down deck, two cards except locomotives from the face-up cards or one from each. When I pick up one card from the face-up deck, it gets replaced right away from the draw pile.

If the replacement card is a locomotive card, can I keep it because if I had picked up two from the face-down deck, it would have been mine?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by ire_and_curses Mar 18 '13 at 17:11

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

Ah, looks like this is a duplicate of… – Johno Mar 18 '13 at 17:13

No, once a card has been revealed as a locomotive, you have to "spend" two draws to pick it up, which means you can't do so since you've already drawn one of your two cards.

From the official rules (PDF), emphasis mine:

If a Locomotive card is one of the five face-up cards, the player who draws it may only draw one card, instead of two. If, after having drawn one card the replacement card is a locomotive, the player cannot take it.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.