Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.
  • I have - - - - - o (a settlement at the end of my road).
  • Now an opponent builds -- x ---o (a settlement along my road).
  • Can I do o - - x - - - - o (build a second settlement at the other end), or do I lose my road once it is cut off from my original settlement?
share|improve this question
    
Shouldn't that be - - - - -o and - -x- - -o and o- -x- - -o? :-) –  corsiKa Mar 28 '13 at 19:34

3 Answers 3

Yes.

The roads remain yours, and you can continue to expand them and settle on them.

There are two weird related rules, though:

  1. An opponent's settlement at the end of your road prevents you from expanding through that settlement.

    o - - -x [cannot place more roads here]
    
    o - - -x- [can place more roads/settlements here]
    

    This is illustrated on the official website.

  2. Even though you can keep building, your road is considered to be cut in half for the purposes of Longest Road.

    Longest Road length = 6
    o - - - - - -
    
    Longest Road length = 4
    o - - - -x- -
    
share|improve this answer
    
Are you sure that you cannot place roads past another players settlement? Do you have a source for this rule? I can't see it in the rule book for the base game. –  Justin Apr 2 '13 at 10:08
    
@Justin Page 4 of the rulebook says "A new road must always connect to 1 of your existing roads, settlements or cities." Clearly if could play a road at X in this example, you are not connecting it to your road, you are connecting it to an opponent's city. This is not allowed. If you were to play a road at your O, it would be connecting to your city, but your own cities do not interrupt the length of your road for the purposes of the "Longest Road" card. –  ghoppe Apr 2 '13 at 18:57

To build a settlement, you just need to obey the relevant rules for building a settlement, which are:

You may only build a settlement at an intersection if all 3 of the adjacent intersections are vacant (i.e., none are occupied by any settlements or cities—even yours).

Each of your settlements must connect to at least 1 of your own roads.

Assuming that the site you want to build at isn't adjacent to another settlement or city, then all you need to worry about is that you have a connecting road. And in this instance you do: there's no reason to suppose a road ceases to be yours just because someone has interrupted its length.

share|improve this answer

Yes -- the only requirement to build a settlement or road is that it be connected to an existing single road. That road doesn't need to be connected to anything else.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.