Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Aurelia, the Warleader Restoration Angel

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase.

If I attack with Aurelia once, then flicker her (e.g. with Restoration Angel), will her second attack also count as "attacks for the first time each turn," thereby allowing me a third?

share|improve this question
You'll need another way to blink her - Restoration Angel doesn't work on Angels. – Jefromi Mar 31 '13 at 4:43
up vote 9 down vote accepted


There are two completely separate Aurelia, the Warleader in the scenario.

The first attacked in the first Combat Phase before being removed from the battlefield through using the ability granted by Deadeye Navigator*.

The second was placed on the battlefield by the blinking ability and went on to attack in the second Combat Phase.

It's of no relevance that the same physical card represents both Angels.

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. [...]

When a card refers to itself by name, it means "this object".

201.4. Text that refers to the object it’s on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

As such, the post-blinking Angel first attacks in the second Combat Phase, triggering the creation of a third.

* — Restoration Angel can't normally blink Aurelia because she is an Angel.

share|improve this answer
+1 especially for the note that this doesn't work with Restoration Angel! It's amazing how many people forget that clause. Also, note that the fact that Aurelia untaps all creatures (and not just those that attacked) means it's theoretically possible to go infinite with e.g. a Breeding Pool and a couple of Arbor Elves. – Steven Stadnicki Mar 31 '13 at 17:23
@StevenStadnicki My favorite Aurelia trick is to use her to untap Izzet Staticaster – Alex P Apr 10 '13 at 3:10

You only have one chance to flicker (Restoration Angel) to gain the ability to attack again and have her forget that she ever attacked. When you are untapping your creatures during that phase, you can ghostly flicker/cloudshift Aurelia, the Warleader as a response to the untapping and those other creatures will get to attack again. She will not be able to get the first attack in, but her second will and any others that Ghostly flicker/Cloudshift during her untap phase.

She will not get to attack because she will phase back in untapped right before attacks are declared checks down. But on the bright side your team will have another go around.

So your answer to the question is yes. She will be placed out of combat when you flicker her during her untap creatures step. You gain the next combat phase where she can attack for the first time, and you can play another flicker here and still get another combat phase where she doesn't attack yet.

share|improve this answer
This is incorrect on several different levels. Firstly, the additional combat triggers when Aurelia attacks; you can flicker her any time between declaring attackers and end of combat, you don't need to do it with the ability on the stack or any such. Secondly, you can do it during the first combat phase's end-of-combat step (see section 511 in the comprehensive rules), so that Aurelia gets all the way through the first combat phase and is in play in plenty of time to attack during the second combat phase. (You could even do it during the second combat's beginning-of-combat step.) – Steven Stadnicki Apr 10 '13 at 1:20

You can't attack with her the second time because when she pops back into play, she has summoning sickness from becoming a new creature.

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. [...]

Being a new object, rules for new objects come into play. Since she's a creature, she has summoning sickness. The lack of association with the original means she hasn't been out for a turn yet.

share|improve this answer
She has haste, so this is not a problem. – RemcoGerlich Apr 16 '14 at 7:44

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.