Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Thebes, you're an archaeologist digging up ancient ruins around the turn of the 20th century. When you show up at a dig site, and dig for some variable amount of time, you expend your excavation permit for that site. There are five sites to dig at, and your excavation permits are restored when you complete a game year.

The trouble is that the duration of a turn is variable in Thebes; you spend one week for every space you move, and up to 12 weeks digging. It's quite possible for one of your digs to straddle a year-end: you start before the year ends, and finish sometime in the new year.

Can you dig at a site if you have no permission, using the "refreshed" permit to dig? (And thus starting the year with a used permit for that site.)

If you have a permit before you dig, do you spend it before you dig and then have it again after you're done digging?

Finally, consider this odd case: you're in week 51. You spend three weeks moving to Mesopotamia (arriving in week 2 of the new year), and then start digging as part of the same move. Is this legal if you have no permit? (In theory, it would refresh in week 1, but the game doesn't break down your turn into components; it's "all one move.") If you had a permit, would you have a permit again once you were done digging?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

I think the key phrase in the rulebook is this one:

At the end of his turn, the player pays any costs in weeks he has incurred by moving his time marker.

By this token, you wouldn't be able to dig without permission just because, after the weeks taken up by movement, you would be "into next year". If you start your turn in one year, then everything counts as taking place in that year; excavation permits can only flip at the end of a player's turn.

If you have a permit, you can of course use it at the very end of one year, and then have it flip back up again at the end of the same turn...

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.