Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This question already has an answer here:

In a multiplayer game, if I were to give someone a permanent with Donate and they were to die while controlling that permanent, then would I get that permanent back? Or would the permanent get put into a graveyard?

I am specifically wondering for Celestial Dawn but I figure it would be the same with any other permanent.

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by SocioMatt, Paul Marshall, corsiKa, Johno, ire_and_curses Apr 5 '13 at 3:08

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You get your permanent back.

800.4. Unlike two-player games, multiplayer games can continue after one or more players have left the game.

800.4a. When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game, any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end, and all spells and abilities controlled by that player on the stack cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order who’s still in the game.

Check out this related question for some more info: In Magic free-for-all multiplayer, what happens when someone dies?

share|improve this answer
    
Awesome. Thanks for the quick response! –  Milo Gertjejansen Apr 2 '13 at 17:40
    
@colin D. What if the player who died was the one who cast the permanant with say... Knowledge pool –  Sam I am Apr 2 '13 at 18:12
    
@SamIam I am not completely sure what you are asking, but I believe it would get exiled. Example: Alex casts Bribery, which reads, “Search target opponent’s library for a creature card and put that card onto the battlefield under your control. Then that player shuffles his or her library,” targeting Bianca. Alex puts Wall of Wood onto the battlefield from Bianca’s library. If Bianca leaves the game, Wall of Wood also leaves the game. If, instead, Alex leaves the game, Wall of Wood is exiled. –  Colin D Apr 2 '13 at 18:19
    
@SamIam Knowledge Pool says the cards are exiled. So the cards are exiled. I would think. –  Milo Gertjejansen Apr 2 '13 at 19:42
    
@MiloGertjejansen I think he is referring to the card that knowledge pool lets you pay without paying its mana cost. So the situation of someone controlling a card they do not own, but also having no 'control changing effect' that can end. –  Colin D Apr 2 '13 at 19:52

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.