Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If you hide alone in City of Horror, do items still get shared (to yourself) even though no vote takes place?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

No. When hiding, you are not allowed to vote. Since there are no votes, the outcome is considered a tie, and in the case of a tie, no one gets anything. The items remain on the location.

In the FAQ (PDF):

Q: Can a hidden character (Little Girl or Little Boy’s power, or Hiding action card) take part in sharing anything?
A: The character can’t vote, but can receive an item.

And on page 6 of the Rules (PDF):

Be careful: in case of a tie in the sharing vote, no players get anything. They remain on the location.

share|improve this answer
Thank you for this! That's what I figured, and in fact the exact argument I put up. +1 – Jim Hurley Apr 5 '13 at 4:45
@JimHurley No problem. Welcome to the site! – Johno Apr 5 '13 at 7:57

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.