If you hide alone in City of Horror, do items still get shared (to yourself) even though no vote takes place?
No. When hiding, you are not allowed to vote. Since there are no votes, the outcome is considered a tie, and in the case of a tie, no one gets anything. The items remain on the location.
In the FAQ (PDF):
And on page 6 of the Rules (PDF):