Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I had a Kurgadon and a Didgeridoo, hacked to say "beast" instead of "minotaur" with Artificial Evolution, in play, and I used Didgeridoo to put Symbiotic Beast into play, would Kurgadon's ability trigger?

I am thinking no, since I am not casting the Symbiotic Beast, just putting it into play.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Reading the gatherer wording for older cards can make the analysis easier.

Didgeridoo:

{3}: You may put a Minotaur permanent card from your hand onto the battlefield.

Kurgadon

Whenever you cast a creature spell with converted mana cost 6 or greater, put three +1/+1 counters on Kurgadon.

So you are correct, clearly the Didgeridoo does not cast a creature spell, so the Kurgadon's ability will not trigger.

share|improve this answer
    
Well this is good information. Thanks! Unfortunately I was hoping to be wrong.. But oh well! Saves me some embarrassment later. –  Milo Gertjejansen Apr 7 '13 at 20:32
1  
@MiloGertjejansen Cards like Garruk's Packleader or Gruul Ragebeast will work with sneak-into-play effects. –  Alex P Apr 7 '13 at 21:49
    
@AlexP Hmm.. That would be worth looking at. I have a few Gruul Ragebeast's around. I also looked at Adaptive Snapjaw to evolve the crap out of it. –  Milo Gertjejansen Apr 7 '13 at 22:43
    
I don't know if you can say "clearly" - Digerdoo's card text states "as though it had just been summoned" - when you consider the vast number of rules around summoning, this text is hardly clear in any stretch of the imagination. It might be an easy decision for those familiar with the rules, but it is not immediately clear, given the text on the card, that it you do not treat the creature the same as having been cast. –  corsiKa Apr 8 '13 at 19:04
2  
@corsiKa Digerdoo's card text used to say "as though it has just been summoned" which is why I said reading the gatherer wording for older cards can make the analysis easier. This is why Wizards has a canonical source for card rules text: to keep interpretations current with modern rules and templates. –  ghoppe Apr 8 '13 at 21:14
show 1 more comment

Casting refers only to putting spells on the stack, not moving cards from one zone to another by other means.

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pays its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect.

In this case, you're putting an ability activation on the stack, but the card in question goes directly from your hand to the battlefield, so nothing is cast.

(Note also that casting refers to moving the object onto the stack — objects created on the stack, like storm copies, also aren't "cast".)

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.