Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When playing Datasucker virus (anarchs), are the virus counters permanent or do you have to clear them at the end of the turn? Even worst, do you have to clear them at the end of a run?

Datasucker: Whenever you make a successful run on a central server, place 1 virus counter on Datasucker. Hosted virus counter: Rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered has -1 strength until the end of the encounter.

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

"Hosted virus counter" is the cost of the effect (i.e. all the words that come after the colon).

If you spend a virus counter to reduce ice strength, the counter is obviously gone immediately. If you choose not to spend a counter, it won't get cleared, either at the end of the run or the end of the turn.

share|improve this answer
That makes total sense. I can't believe I didn't get this right away... Thanks! – pcantin Apr 10 '13 at 1:17

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.