Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If an opponent casts (or cascades into) Hypergenesis, starting with the caster each player takes it in turns to put a Creature, Artifact, Land or Enchantment onto the Battlefield. This can be repeated any number of times, and as a result potentially lead to some confusion.

1) I put an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn onto the battlefield, my opponent puts an Oblivion Ring onto the battlefield. Next, I put a Griselbrand onto the Battlefield, my opponent puts a Detention Sphere onto the battlefield. Finally, I put an Iona, Shield of Emeria onto the battlefield, My opponent puts an Island onto the battlefield. Can my opponent exile my Iona?

2) I put a Goblin Matron onto the battlefield, can I fetch a Goblin Ringleader and put that onto the battlefield in the next round of Hypergenesis?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

When an ability triggers, all the game does is make a note of it. The triggered ability is only placed on the stack the next time a player would get priority. This is only after Hypergenesis has finished resolving.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. [...]

So 1) yes, and 2) no.

share|improve this answer
add comment
  1. yes.
  2. no.

From the Rulings sections on gatherer:Hypergenesis

Anything that triggers during the resolution of this will wait to be put on the stack until everything is put onto the battlefield and resolution is complete. The player whose turn it is will put all of his or her triggered abilities on the stack in any order, then each other player in turn order will do the same. (The last ability put on the stack will be the first one that resolves.)

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.