Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A player in a competitive REL tournament pays 1 mana to activate Sensei's Divining Top's ability to look at the top 3 cards of his library, looks at the 3 cards, changes the order and put them back.

Without performing any further actions or saying/implying that the spell is resolved, can that player then return to look at those 3 cards again?

share|improve this question
    
this is a question that I have had come up while testing decks, but never actually in a tournament. interested to know the answer –  Patters Apr 12 '13 at 14:46
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No they can not look at the cards again.

1 : Look at the top three cards of your library, then put them back in any order.

By placing the cards back on the library they have finished taking all the actions the ability allowed and then it finishes resolving.

If you were playing a very competitive game, this is not a legal thing to do.

I do not think there is any way to interpret the above rule and all its parts to allow a player to re-do the last step of an ability.

Furthermore the rules do not have anything in them about a player stating that anything resolves. A spell resolves when all of the steps listed in its text have been completed.

608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written...

share|improve this answer
    
could you please post the text of rule 608, or at least a link to the source? –  Sam I am Apr 12 '13 at 19:13
    
its in the comprehensive rules and it spans 11 sub sections. I only put it in there because it is the appropriate rule concerning resolving a spell. I could post the whole body of the rule if you really think it would help, but the importance of that rule in this situation is what is not defined there. this is the wizards of the coast page for the rules the comprehensive can be found there. –  Pow-Ian Apr 12 '13 at 19:23
    
you mean here? –  Sam I am Apr 12 '13 at 19:25
    
well I would mean there except that is going to link to the rules that are current today. The link I provided will bring a user to the page where the rules can be found and then they can click the link which will lead them to the rules that are most current in the future. :) –  Pow-Ian Apr 12 '13 at 19:31
    
Hmm, I think you could probably trim that down to the pertinent sub-rules without losing the value. 608.2c is really the only interesting one in this case. –  Guvante Apr 12 '13 at 21:36
show 1 more comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.