Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Varolz, the Scar-Striped says

Each creature card in you graveyard has scavenge. Their scavenge cost is equal to its mana cost.

My question is simple: do I get to choose which side I can scavenge?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

The answer is simple: No. You must choose the card's front face (the face which has the sun symbol in the top-left corner.) In the case of flip cards, you must choose the card's normal characteristics.

Rule reference:

711.2a In every zone other than the battlefield, and also on the battlefield with its front face up, a double-faced card has only the characteristics of the front face.

709.2. In every zone other than the battlefield, and also on the battlefield before the permanent flips, a flip card has only the normal characteristics of the card. Once a permanent is flipped, its normal name, text box, type line, power, and toughness don't apply and the alternative versions of those characteristics apply instead.

share|improve this answer
on the plus side, you can scavenge death's shadow and phyrexian dreadnaught to get 13 or 12 respective +1/+1 counters for only 1 mana! – Patters Apr 17 '13 at 12:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.