Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Great Unclean One upgrade card says

Immediately place two corruption tokens in a region when you summon a Great Unclean One there.

These corruption tokens appear outside of the normal Corruption phase, so it's not clear how they interact with region ruination. The rules (p.19) say

To resolve the corruption step... players count the total number of corruption tokens in the region... If this total is 12 or more, that region is RUINED.

Then each player who placed at least one corruption token in that region during this corruption step immediately scores the same number of victory points indicated for ruiners on that ruination card.

  1. If placing the Great Unclean One pushed the total number of corruption tokens to 12 or more, is the region immediately ruined? Or does ruination not occur until the Corruption phase?
  2. The Nurgle player's corruption tokens were not placed during the corruption step. Does the Nurgle player count as a ruiner for VPs?
share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

In the FAQ it says:

Errata Rulebook (pages 19–20) If a region is ruined, each player who placed at least one corruption token in that region during this round immediately scores the number of victory points indicated for ruiners on that ruination card

So that means the Nurgle player would count as a ruiner if that region was ruined that turn. However, ruination is only checked in the ruination phase, and so the region would not be ruined immediately.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.