Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a creature with regeneration. My opponent responds to me activating regeneration with the Turn side of Turn // Burn.

Can I then activate regeneration again to make it a 0/1 weird with regeneration?

share|improve this question
    
When you say "with regeneration" do you mean "with an activated ability allowing it to regenerate" or "with a regeneration shield"? –  corsiKa Apr 18 '13 at 20:48

1 Answer 1

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes, you can activate an activated ability as often as you can pay its activation cost.

But you don't need to. The ability will still resolve even if the creature no longer has the ability when it resolves.

For example, say the creature in question is a Dutiful Thrull.

  1. Your opponent casts Shock targeting your Dutiful Thrull.
  2. In response, you activate its ability.
  3. In response, he casts Turn.
  4. Turn resolves: The Dutiful Thrull is now a 0/1 red Weird with no abilities.
  5. Dutiful Thrull's ability resolves: A regeneration shield is placed on Dutiful Thrull.
  6. Shock resolves: It deals two damage to the 0/1 Dutiful Thrull.
  7. SBAs are performed: The creature would be destroyed, but the regen shield kicks in. Dutiful Thrull is tapped, removed from combat and all marked damage is removed.

You could activate Dutiful Thrull's ability a second time between steps 3 and 4, which will give it a second shield for later on in the turn.


112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. [...]

share|improve this answer
    
This way the creature has an extra regeneration shield until the end of the phase(turn?) in case they try to finish it off. –  Nick Apr 18 '13 at 14:56
    
Yes, if you activate it twice, it'll have two shields, which will replace two instances of destruction. –  ikegami Apr 18 '13 at 14:59
    
Added an example. –  ikegami Apr 18 '13 at 15:00
1  
@warbacker, How is that weird? Multiple levels of protection is a common theme in ... well just about every game with such a concept. –  ikegami Apr 19 '13 at 3:05
1  
@ikegami Because a card doesn't say "Add a regeneration shield," it says "Regenerate." The rules translate that into adding a shield because that's the simplest way to make the mechanic work in a stack-based game, but it leads to some not-very-flavorful edge cases. Flavor-wise, regeneration is something that you do after you've been injured that causes you not to die, but it's too complicated to model it that way in Magic. –  warbaker Apr 19 '13 at 16:06

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.