Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose I animate my Simic Keyrune into a 2/3 artifact creature. Will it evolve my 1/1 Fathom Mage?

share|improve this question
1  
"Transform" has a specific meaning in magic, and it doesn't apply here. The word "animate" is usually used. Fixed. –  ikegami Apr 19 '13 at 17:13
    
possible duplicate of If a land becomes a creature, has it entered the battlefield? –  Jefromi Apr 19 '13 at 17:55
    
(The duplicate is about lands turning into creatures, but I think it's pretty clear the answer wouldn't be different for an artifact.) –  Jefromi Apr 19 '13 at 17:56
    
Despite having the same answer, the two are distinct questions. More info: meta.stackoverflow.com/q/57836/147335 –  corsiKa Apr 19 '13 at 18:37
    
@corsiKa, It's only a different question if you don't realize it doesn't matter whether the card being animated was an artifact or land. I don't think anyone would fail to realize that, including the OP. Way too many questions are marked as "duplicate" when they shouldn't be, but I think you're just being too nitpicky here. –  ikegami Apr 19 '13 at 20:43
show 1 more comment

1 Answer

up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, Evolve triggers on creatures entering the battlefield, and the Keyrune must necessarily be on the the battlefield to use its ability.

Changing an object's characteristics (power, toughenss, type, etc) does not cause it to enter or leave the battlefield.


702.98a Evolve is a triggered ability. “Evolve” means “Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, if that creature’s power is greater than this creature’s power and/or that creature’s toughness is greater than this creature’s toughness, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.”

share|improve this answer
    
And What about Zameck Guildmage? If i use its ability to make my new creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it then if I cast another Fathom Mage will it evolve my 1/1 one? –  Adam Arold Apr 19 '13 at 17:07
    
Zameck Guildmage causes creatures to enter with the +1/+1 counter -- there is never a moment it's on the battlefield without the +1/+1 counter -- so Evolve does see the higher modified P/T from the +1/+1 counter as you would want. It won't add a counter to a Keyrune being animated, though. –  ikegami Apr 19 '13 at 17:10
    
I see. Thanks for the info! –  Adam Arold Apr 19 '13 at 17:10
    
I've added a sentence to my last comment. –  ikegami Apr 19 '13 at 17:14
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.