Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

We played Mansions of Madness for the first time this weekend and I was surprised that fire was so devastating.

When a status effect is placed in a room, like fire, does it ever end without an 'action'?

share|improve this question
"I was surprised that fire was so devastating" - I'm sure that's also been said outside of a boardgaming context. ;) – Andrew Vandever Apr 22 '13 at 16:24
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No. The keyword in the rules (found here) is "ongoing." Status effects do not end until an action is taken to end them.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.