Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I were to cast Restoration Angel targeting Ravager of the Fells, What side would Ravager of the Fells be on when he came back into the battlefield?

share|improve this question
you mean cards with 'transform' right? and not the flip cards from the kamikawa block? do both questions have the same answer? – Colin D Apr 23 '13 at 16:16
Double-faced cards don't have sides, they have faces. – ikegami Apr 23 '13 at 16:17
@Colin D, Double-faced cards are the ones that transform, yes. Yes, it's the "same answer" for flip cards. – ikegami Apr 23 '13 at 16:28
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Its front face (the one with the sun symbol in the top-left corner), so Huntmaster of the Fells.

It's a brand new object put onto the 'field, as if you had just cast it. It has summoning sickness; it's untapped; it doesn't have any counters, enchantments or equipment; and it's front face is up.

711.5. A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up unless a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” in which case it enters the battlefield with its back face up.

share|improve this answer
+1 for the apostrophe before field. :-) That's great. – corsiKa Apr 23 '13 at 18:02

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.