In bridge, what is the priority in leading when partner bid spades, and contract is clubs, and I have ace and queen of spades. Does the rule "do not underlead an ace" here override the rule "lead with the suit that your partner has bid"?
Consider a few different scenarios:
These are general guidelines, and not "rules". There are other factors that will affect your choice of lead:
You will notice that the latter guidelines for the most part contradict the former scenario suggestions; this is deliberate. Leading well is part science, part art, and part black magic.
Lead the ace of spades. Partner probably has the king for his overcall. After you take the ace, lead the queen to his (presumed) K. If he has, and can take it (no ruff), you will have two tricks in the bag, meaning that declarer will have to take all remaining 11 tricks for game.
Hopefully, partner will have an additional trick to take that will beat the game.