Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I would prefer to lose my life on?

share|improve this question
Please link to cards (by using [mtg:Card Name]). – ikegami May 1 '13 at 14:26
Don't use split cards with the new dark confidant vampire! – wesdfgfgd May 1 '13 at 14:34
@wesdfgfgd Why not? Blood Scrivener only makes you lose 1 life, not life equal to the CMC. It would be abetter option that Dark Confidant. – SocioMatt May 1 '13 at 18:03
@SocioMatt Blood Scrivener is the Dark Confidant Zombie. Wes is talking about Duskmantle Seer. – Alex P May 1 '13 at 18:28
@AlexP Good call. It was the word "new" that threw me off. – SocioMatt May 1 '13 at 18:33
up vote 10 down vote accepted

If it's somewhere other than the on the stack or if it's fused, a split card has two CMCs. You'll lose the life equal to both of the cards CMCs.

708.5. An effect that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it’s in a zone other than the stack gets two answers (one for each of the split card’s two halves).

Example: Infernal Genesis has an ability that reads, “At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens onto the battlefield, where X is that card’s converted mana cost.” If the top card of your library is Assault/Battery when this ability resolves, the game sees its converted mana cost as “1, and 4.” You get five creature tokens.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.