Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I assumed it was 10+pts, and 7 Spade suit -- am I correct?

share|improve this question
    
This question isn't going to be answerable unless you give more details about the bidding system that you were using. –  bwarner May 1 '13 at 19:03
    
@bwarner: edited my answer... –  user5185 May 1 '13 at 19:09
    
What was the vulnerability? Who was dealer? Was either partnership playing a strong club system? The answer to all of these questions will weigh in on the fine details of the answer. –  Pieter Geerkens May 2 '13 at 1:20
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 1 down vote accepted

A jump overcall is pre-emptive and generally shows the same values as a pre-emptive opening bid.

So in this case 3S could show as little as 6 HCP with 7 spades.

share|improve this answer
    
the first sentence of your answer is what i was missing. Thanks –  user5185 May 2 '13 at 8:35
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.