Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I control exactly 1 Basilica Screecher, and I cast Launch Party sacrificing my Basilica Screecher, can I still use Basilica Screecher to extort on Launch Party?

share|improve this question
... Do you mean Launch Party instead of Slaughter Games? – Alex P May 1 '13 at 20:14
@AlexP yes I did. Those 4-mana rakdos spells are all the same to me – Sam I am May 1 '13 at 20:15
up vote 7 down vote accepted

No. Basilica Screecher will no longer be on the battlefield when the spell becomes cast, so its ability will not trigger.

Casting a spell:

  1. Placing it on the stack. [CR 601.2a]
  2. Make choices (e.g. modes, targets) that need to be made to cast the spell. [CR 601.2b-d]
  3. Determine the total cost to cast the spell. [CR 601.2e]
  4. Activate mana abilities. [CR 601.2f]
  5. Pay the total cost. [CR 601.2g]

Only once all of the above has happened is the spell cast, so only then would abilities that trigger on casting the spell trigger.

601.2h Once the steps described in 601.2a–g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell’s controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority.

However, you sacrificed Basilica Screecher back in step 5 (601.2g), so it's no longer on the battlefield when you completed the casting of the spell, meaning its ability will not trigger.

share|improve this answer
Yours is better. I'll just edit yours. ;) – Alex P May 1 '13 at 20:44
@Alex P, I always mean a concise answer at the top, but I forgot this time. Thanks for adding it. – ikegami May 1 '13 at 21:14

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.