Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The card Thrumming Stone says:

Spells you cast have ripple 4. (Whenever you cast a spell, you may reveal the top four cards of your library. You may cast any revealed cards with the same name as the spell without paying their mana costs. Put the rest on the bottom of your library.)

Does this mean then when I cast a spell (e.g. Relentless Rats):
I look at the top 4 cards which contains a Relentless rat,
I cast this card and then ripple again?

And if I find two rats in one ripple does this mean I can look at my next 8 cards?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

It does work like that. That's part of the point of Ripple... if your deck is built correctly, you can just keep on Rippling all the way through it.

This ruling on Thrumming Stone in Gatherer may be instructive:

If you cast a spell that already has ripple (such as Surging Flame, which has ripple 4) while Thrumming Stone is on the battlefield, both ripple abilities will trigger separately. Assuming you choose to do all "you may" actions, when the first instance of ripple resolves, you reveal the top four cards of your library, cast all Surging Flames, and put the rest of the cards on the bottom of your library. Any new Surging Flames are on the stack on top of the other instance of ripple, so they'll resolve next. Each of them also has two instances of ripple, which trigger separately, and the process continues until the ripple abilities don't reveal any Surging Flames.

As you can see, each new copy of Surging Flames has not one but two instances of Ripple (one granted by Thrumming Stone) which resolve. Ripple keeps on going until there's nothing with Ripple left to cast.

share|improve this answer
    
So if you play an EDH deck with 30 Relentless rats, you can get them all out with just one rat? (if you are lucky) –  SirDuckduck May 2 '13 at 12:49
1  
@SirDuckduck If you play an EDH deck with 30 Relentless Rats, you aren't playing an EDH deck. "With the exception of basic lands, no two cards in the deck may have the same English name." –  SocioMatt May 2 '13 at 12:51
    
@SocioMatt But the ruling of Relentless rats says: A deck can have any number of cards named Relentless Rats. –  SirDuckduck May 2 '13 at 12:54
5  
You CAN have any number of copies of Relentless Rats in an EDH/Commander deck. It's the golden rule of Magic: "101. The Magic Golden Rules 101.1. Whenever a card's text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a)." –  GendoIkari May 2 '13 at 13:11
1  
@GendoIkari Gah! Just started looking around and it seems the internet agrees with you (probably because you're right). But I stand by my statement of it violating the spirit of EDH. –  SocioMatt May 2 '13 at 13:14
show 4 more comments

Yes. The first rat will ripple and then each subsequent casting of the spell 'relentless rats' will ripple, because the triggered ability will happen each time you cast a spell.

Note that this is a may trigger. Which means once it is on the stack, you may choose to do it or you may choose not to do it when it comes time to resolve the ripple effect.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.