Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Counterbalance allows you to reveal the top card of your library whenever a spell is played, and counter it if the revealed card has the same mana cost.

If an opponent has cast several spells to ramp up to casting Tendrils of Agony, and I have Helm of Obedience on top of my library, do I get to counter all of the storm copies?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

No, Counterbalance only counters the original Storm spell.

706.10. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated. [...]

Since the copies are not cast, Counterbalance never triggers for them.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.