Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If a creature has a P/T of * / *, but is not the battlefield, What is it's P/T with regards to effects that care about P/T such as Wild Pair and Varolz, the Scar-Striped.

If I used Varolz, the Scar-Striped to scavenge a Boneyard Wurm, and I have X creatures in my graveyard, do I get 0 counters or do I get X counters?

share|improve this question
You should accept Collin's answer. PS this also works with Tarmagoyf. – wesdfgfgd May 7 '13 at 20:17
up vote 24 down vote accepted

It depends on the card in question. If it can't be determined use 0.

208.2a The card may have a characteristic-defining ability that sets its power and/or toughness according to some stated condition. (See rule 604.3.) Such an ability is worded "[This creature's] [power or toughness] is equal to . . ." or "[This creature's] power and toughness are each equal to . . ." This ability functions everywhere, even outside the game. If the ability needs to use a number that can't be determined, including inside a calculation, use 0 instead of that number. Example: Lost Order of Jarkeld has power and toughness each equal to 1+*. It has the abilities "As Lost Order of Jarkeld enters the battlefield, choose an opponent" and "Lost Order of Jarkeld's power and toughness are each equal to 1 plus the number of creatures the chosen player controls." While Lost Order of Jarkeld isn't on the battlefield, there won't be a chosen player. Its power and toughness will each be equal to 1 plus 0, so it's 1/1.

When you scavenge Boneyard Wurm you will get a number of +1/+1 counters equal the number of creatures in your graveyard before Boneyard Wurm is exiled. (A ruling on Varolz, the Scar-Striped reads: The number of counters that a card’s scavenge ability puts on a creature is based on the card’s power as it last existed in the graveyard.)

share|improve this answer
Correct and concisely. Perfect :) – ikegami May 7 '13 at 20:55
I would highlight the "after", just to make it super clear that the boneyard wurm doesnt count. – Patters May 8 '13 at 8:45
@Rawrgramming actually, that part is wrong: Boneyard Wurm will count itself in the graveyard. The fourth ruling on Varolz, the Scar-Striped says: The number of counters that a card’s scavenge ability puts on a creature is based on the card’s power as it last existed in the graveyard. – Pablo May 8 '13 at 19:34
@Pablo Thanks for pointing that out. – Colin D May 9 '13 at 11:54

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.