Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Say I have Lazav, Dimir Mastermind and Vigor on the battlefield and Vigor dies. Lazav's ability triggers and I have him become a copy of Vigor. Does he now apply Vigor's ability to himself as well, since the ability says: "other than Vigor"?

share|improve this question
    
Also incidentally, noticing the way you worded the first sentence, remember Lazav would only trigger if your opponent owns the Vigor. –  Affe May 10 '13 at 16:15

1 Answer 1

Nope, when an ability on an object refers to itself by name it means "this object."

201.4b If an ability of an object refers to that object by name, and an object with a different name gains that ability, each instance of the first name in the gained ability that refers to the first object by name should be treated as the second name.

Example: Quicksilver Elemental says, in part, “{U}: Quicksilver Elemental gains all activated abilities of target creature until end of turn.” If it gains an ability that says “{G}: Regenerate Cudgel Troll,” activating that ability will regenerate Quicksilver Elemental, not the Cudgel Troll it gained the ability from.

Example: Glacial Ray is an instant with “splice onto Arcane” that says “Glacial Ray deals 2 damage to target creature or player.” If it’s spliced onto a Kodama’s Reach, that Kodama’s Reach deals 2 damage to the target creature or player.

Example: Dimir Doppelganger says “{1}{U}{B}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Dimir Doppelganger becomes a copy of that card and gains this ability.” Dimir Doppelganger’s ability is activated targeting a Runeclaw Bear card. The Doppelganger becomes a copy of Runeclaw Bear and gains an ability that should be treated as saying “{1}{U}{B}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Runeclaw Bear becomes a copy of that card and gains this ability.”

If the name were to be used literally, the text would read "a creature you control not named Vigor" instead of "a creature you control other than Vigor".

share|improve this answer
    
So, if two Vigors were in play they would infact only refer to themselves as objects and therefore protect each other? –  zo0x May 9 '13 at 18:37
2  
@zo0x Yes. Rules text on a card mentioning the card name always refers to that card only. The template would have to be "other than a source named Vigor" for it not to be the case. See Blazing Effigy –  ghoppe May 9 '13 at 18:42
    
I guess in the context of Vigor the template would be other than a creature named Vigor — similar to the Relentless Rats rules text. –  ghoppe May 9 '13 at 20:30
    
Even if this weren't the case, Lazav always keeps the name "Lazav, Dimir Mastermind" –  Origami Robot Jun 7 '13 at 17:55

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.