Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Let's say I attack with Aetherling. After it deals damage I blink it out. When it returns at my end step, does it come back untapped and ready to block?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes, when Aetherling returns to the battlefield, it's considered a new permanent, so it enters the battlefield without remembering that it was tapped.

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are seven exceptions to this rule:

(none of the exceptions apply here).

share|improve this answer
Cool, thanks for the answer! – Matt Swanson May 19 '13 at 21:39
Note that this is still affected by effects that indicate how permanents enter the battlefield; if your opponent controls a card like Urabrask or Blind Obedience which says that 'creatures [your opponents control] enter the battlefield tapped' then Aetherling will enter play tapped when coming out of exile and not just when played from your hand. – Steven Stadnicki May 20 '13 at 19:11

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.